Multiplying Teen Numbers

 

image

First let me introduce you about what are  “teen numbers “.
   Teen Numbers are numbers from 11 to 19 .
     Now let’s look into multiplying the two teen numbers.

Steps involved are as follows.
   1 )  To one of the numbers , add the units digit of the other number.
  2 ) Find the product of  units digit of two numbers.
  3 ) Any tens digit should be added  to the sum found in the first step.
   4 ) Affix the two results of the above steps  : step 1| step 2

Consider for example :
     12 ×17

Step 1 :  12 +7 = 19  or 17+2 = 19
Step 2:  7×2 = 14
Step 3: Now add 1 from step 2 to 9 (step 1)
Step 4 :  we get 1/ (9+1)/3
           = 204
Therefore,   12 ×17 =204

One more example
      13×19 = ( 13+9) / (3×9)
                  = 22/27
                   =247

Try it yourself :
 
a) 12  × 16 =?
b) 13 ×17 =?
c) 18 ×13 =?

          
      
   

   

About Praveenkumar P Kalikeri

ABOUT US Hey,Thanks for dropping by .First I would like to Appreciate for your love towards the Mathematics Subject. My name is Praveenkumar Kalikeri. I'm an Engineering Student from Karnataka , India. My Passion for Mathematics , encouraged me to start this blog . I Started loving the Mathematics subject from my schooling days.I was greatly motivated by teachers, parents who always helped me .        Numbers have Beauty !! They fascinated me .. As we all know best method to try out something new is to study old theories , concepts , its drawbacks, etc. I ,myself Started learning Vedic Mathematics at age of 15. Here , I will share vedic maths tricks learned and modified by me in simple manner which will be useful in various competitive exams. "If You Believe , You Can Do".
This entry was posted in Mathematics, vedic Mathematics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.