Puzzles from the Book by Shakuntala Devi

        Here, I’m writing about the puzzles, riddles and mathematics questions from the book ” More puzzles” by Shakuntala Devi. These puzzles might be asked in various exams to check your thinking and ability to solve the problems.

Each puzzle in this book provides you to brush your basics and think in different way.

 

 Sum of the reciprocals

The sum of two numbers  is ten. Their product is twenty.Can you find the sum of the reciprocals of the two numbers?

 

Find out the sum

What is the sum of all numbers between 100 and 1000 which are divisible by 14 ?

 

Read out the Figure

A London monument is marked as follows:

MDCLXVI

What year does it represent ?

 

Beetles and Spiders 

       Naval collected 8 spiders and beetles into a little box. When he counted the legs he found that there were altogether 54. How many beetles and how many spiders did he collect?

 

Value of  “S”

             S434S0 What number must be substituted with  ‘S’ to make it divisible by 36? 

 

Missing Terms 

48,60,58,72,68,104 …….

Here is a sequence. Can you find the two missing terms?

 

Angle of Hands

The time is 2:15 P.M.What is the angle between the hour and minute hands?

 

Average speed

  It was a long drive. I drove 60 kilometres at 30 kilometres per hour and then an additional 60 kilometres at 50 kilometres per hour.

 

 Tell the Time

 Can you tell at what time between 7 and 8 O’clock, the two hands of a clock, will be in a straight line?

 

A problem of  Age 

Today was Lakshmi’s birthday.She turned 24.Lakshmi is twice as old as Ramu was when Lakshmi was old as old as Ramu now. How old is Ramu now?

 

About Praveenkumar P Kalikeri

ABOUT US Hey,Thanks for dropping by .First I would like to Appreciate for your love towards the Mathematics Subject. My name is Praveenkumar Kalikeri. I'm an Engineering Student from Karnataka , India. My Passion for Mathematics , encouraged me to start this blog . I Started loving the Mathematics subject from my schooling days.I was greatly motivated by teachers, parents who always helped me .        Numbers have Beauty !! They fascinated me .. As we all know best method to try out something new is to study old theories , concepts , its drawbacks, etc. I ,myself Started learning Vedic Mathematics at age of 15. Here , I will share vedic maths tricks learned and modified by me in simple manner which will be useful in various competitive exams. "If You Believe , You Can Do".
This entry was posted in Mathematics, Puzzles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.